City on Fire: A Novel Hardcover Book

City on Fire: A Novel Hardcover Book

WickedSunLight

$34.55 

City on Fire: A Novel Hardcover – April 26, 2022 by Don Winslow

BUY IN PAPERBACK OR HARDCOVER

FREE SHIPPING

City on Fire: A Novel

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of the Cartel Trilogy (The Power of the DogThe Cartel, and The Border), The Force, and Broken comes the first novel in an epic new trilogy.

“Superb. City on Fire is exhilarating.” – Stephen King

"Epic, ambitious, majestic, City on Fire is The Godfather for our generation.” – Adrian McKinty, New York Times bestselling author of The Chain

Two criminal empires together control all of New England.

Until a beautiful woman comes between the Irish and the Italians, launching a war that will see them kill each other, destroy an alliance, and set a city on fire.

Danny Ryan yearns for a more “legit” life and a place in the sun. But as the bloody conflict stacks body on body and brother turns against brother, Danny has to rise above himself. To save the friends he loves like family and the family he has sworn to protect, he becomes a leader, a ruthless strategist, and a master of a treacherous game in which the winners live and the losers die.

From the gritty streets of Providence to the glittering screens of Hollywood to the golden casinos of Las Vegas, two rival crime families ignite a war that will leave only one standing. The winner will forge a dynasty.

Exploring the classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, and honor, City on Fire is a contemporary masterpiece in the tradition of The GodfatherCasino, and Goodfellas—a thrilling saga from Don Winslow, “America’s greatest living crime writer” (Jon Land, Providence Journal).

Review

"Superb. This is storytelling with a keen edge. City on Fire is exhilarating to read." -- Stephen King

"A blistering novel filled with anger and bite. . . . Plenty of pain for the characters, plenty of thrills for the reader." -- 
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Gritty, moody, and totally immersive, 
City on Fire is the first installment in an epic new series that is sure to grip readers from the start. This is Winslow at his very best.” -- Karin Slaughter, New York Times and internationally bestselling author

"Don Winslow can hold his own with the best of crime fiction's elite: Mario Puzo, George Higgins, Elmore Leonard. He's a bard of the bad guys and 
City on Fire is his most relentless book yet. You gotta have it."
-- 
Joe Hill, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author

"The crime fiction canon has no shortage of memorable mob sagas by such masters as Puzo, Ellroy, and Lehane. 
City on Fire, with its large cast of memorable characters and low-key allusions to classical literature, maintains Mr. Winslow’s well-earned place in these ranks." -- Wall Street Journal

“Pure genius! Nobody can bring such grit and such heart to crime fiction as Don Winslow—and with such a unique and compelling stylistic voice. This sprawling novel, populated with breathtakingly real characters, will grip you from the first page and never loosen its hold, and that remains true long after you’ve turned the last page. And what a delight that this is the first of a trilogy. Can hardly wait for the others!” -- 
Jeffery Deaver, bestselling author of The Midnight Lock

"Winslow’s epic slow-burner, full of richly layered characters and tender personal struggles, bubbles to an intricate, exciting climax. Crime fiction fans will eagerly await the sequel." -- 
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Winslow is our Dickens of modern crime. I can’t think of anyone better at what he does."
-- 
Linwood Barclay, New York Times bestselling author

"City on Fire is the best gangster novel since The Godfather."
-- 
Steve Cavanagh, bestselling author of the Eddie Flynn series


“Stunning . . . Echoing Homer’s epic 
Iliad, Winslow delivers a fast-paced, intense, and brooding story. It’s perfect for readers of William Boyle, James Lee Burke, and Dennis Lehane.” -- Library Journal (starred review)

About the Author

Don Winslow is the author of twenty-two acclaimed, award-winning international bestsellers, including the New York Times bestsellers The Force and The Border, the #1 international bestseller The CartelThe Power of the DogSavages, and The Winter of Frankie MachineSavages was made into a feature film by three-time Oscar-winning writer-director Oliver Stone. The Power of the DogThe Cartel, and The Border sold to FX to air as a major television series, and The Force is soon to be a major motion picture from 20th Century Studios. A former investigator, antiterrorist trainer, and trial consultant, Winslow lives in California and Rhode Island.

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ William Morrow (April 26, 2022)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 384 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 0062851195
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0062851192
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.33 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6.12 x 1.21 x 9.25 inches